Ahead of the 2nd annual Canadian Arts & Fashion Awards (CAFA), the 2015 nominees were announced on the evening of October 14th at the Spoke Club.

Brittney Kuczynski (CAFA) announces the launch of the new Canadian Fashion Fund

Brittney Kuczynski (CAFA) announces the launch of the new Canadian Fashion Fund


Following in the footsteps of Elisha Cuthbert at last year’s CAFA award nominee announcement ceremony, Kardinal Offishall held the duties of reading off the list of CAFA 2015 nominees this year.

The main event will be hosted by Joe Zee, editor-in-chief of Yahoo Style. He’s also being awarded by CAFA as the 2015 Vanguard Award Honoree.

New and exciting categories include the Fashion Blogger of the Year Award. I don’t think anyone is surprised by the nominees in this category (The Coveteur, Beckerman Blog, Tommy Ton, Jay Strut) – too bad it’s so short is all – above all, it’s just great to give attention where it’s due. One of those fashion blogger nominees, Jay Strut, was in attendance.

Brittney Kuczynski (CAFA), Jay Strut (CAFA 2015 nominee)

Brittney Kuczynski (CAFA), Jay Strut (CAFA 2015 nominee)

The winners will be selected by the official 2015 CAFA jury panel: stylists Brad Goreski and Leslie Fremar; Coco Rocha, Jeanne Beker; chief creative officer at ALDO, Douglas Bensadoun; FLARE Magazine editor-in-chief, Cameron Williamson; FASHION Magazine editor-in-chief, Bernadette Morra and more TBD.

At last year’s inaugural CAFA 2014 gala, it was a star-studded affair for Canadian fashion including our own supermodel Coco Rocha and many countless more.

This year’s CAFA 2015 will be held on January 31st, 2015 once again at the Fairmont Royal York Hotel. Ask anyone who was there – it was a great time last year – so be sure to at least make it to the “lively after party”. It will surely be a night to remember.

Here are your Canadian Arts & Fashion Award 2015 nominees:

The Womenswear Designer of the Year Award
Christie Smythe & Andrea Lenczner, SMYTHE
Marie Saint-Pierre
Mikhael Kale
Melissa Nepton
Kirk Pickersgill & Stephen Wong, GRETA CONSTANTINE

The Menswear Designer of the Year Award
Wings + Horns
Philippe Dubuc
Frank & Oak
Christopher Bates

Swarovski Emerging Talent Award for Fashion Design
Sid Neigum
Matthew Gallagher
Malorie Urbanovich

Swarovski Emerging Talent Award for Accessory Design
Kat Marks
Noelle Hindi
Jon De Porter

The Outstanding Achievement Award
David Dixon
Michael Budman & Don Green, ROOTS
Lida Baday
Marie Saint-Pierre

The Accessory Design of the Year Award
Jerome C. Rousseau
Ela Handbags
Jenny Bird
Herschel Supply Company

Sephora Image Maker of the Year Award
Jake Rosenberg
Gabor Jurina
Max Abadian
Tommy Ton
Leda & St. Jacques

The International Canadian Designer of the Year Award
Thomas Tait
Mikael D.
Steven Tai

The Stylist of the Year Award
Zeina Esmail
Liz Cabral
Juliana Schiavinatto
Susie Sheffman

The Model of the Year Award
Heather Marks
Daria Werbowy
Jessica Stam
Anais Pouliot

The Fashion Blogger of the Year Award
The Coveteur
Beckerman Blog
Tommy Ton
Jay Strut

Photos of the CAFA 2015 nominees announcement event by Nick Lee

For more information about CAFA including tickets visit www.cafawards.com

Upcoming: The Gentlemen's Expo
In Photos: The annual Booby Ball was a fun Big Top Booby charity bash

Nick Lee

Editor and Photos at BestOfToronto.net