The Canadian Triple Crown of thoroughbred racing based in Canada is a series of three prestigious horse races for three-year-old Thoroughbred horses born in the country. The Canadian Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing is an illustrious title, coveted by horse racing enthusiasts and professionals alike. Like its more famous counterpart in the United States, Canada’s Triple Crown signifies excellence and dominance in the world of thoroughbred racing. Here’s a look at the history and significance of this prestigious title. It is one of North America’s most existing horse racing events. You may ask, how it began, what are its origins?

How it all started

The original idea of a Triple Crown in horse racing was first executed back in England where later was adopted in the U.S. and Canada. However, the Canadian Triple Crown is the oldest continuously run race in North America.

In England, where the original Triple Crown consists of the 2000 Guineas Stakes, the Epsom Derby, and the St. Leger Stakes. The idea eventually crossed the Atlantic to North America, where the U.S. established its version, consisting of the Kentucky Derby, the Preakness Stakes, and the Belmont Stakes. This was followed by Canada Inspired by these established series, Canada introduced its own Triple Crown in 1959.

Canadian Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing

Canada’s Triple Crown consists of three major races, each held in the province of Ontario.

The Queen’s Plate

The Queen’s Plate is the oldest of the three races. The first race was held back in 1860. Not only that, but It is also the oldest continuously run race in North America. The race is staged at Woodbine Racetrack in Toronto, and it covers 1 1/4 miles and is open to three-year-old thoroughbreds foaled in Canada. Over the years, the Queen’s Plate has seen many of the nation’s finest horses compete, establishing it as a focal event in Canadian sports.

The Prince of Wales Stakes

Held at Fort Erie Race Track, this race was first run in 1929, though it didn’t become a part of the Triple Crown series until 1959. Covering 1 3/16 miles, the Prince of Wales Stakes offers a different challenge for horses, especially with its unique track configuration and tighter turns.

The Breeders’ Stakes

This race is unique because it’s contested on turf, covering a distance of 1 1/2 miles at the Woodbine Racetrack. It began in 1889 and, like the Prince of Wales Stakes, was included in the Triple Crown series in 1959. Being the only turf race in the series, the Breeders’ Stakes often brings a different set of contenders and strategies to the fore.

Notable Moments

Since its inception in 1959, only seven horses have managed to secure the Canadian Triple Crown. Those happened in 1959, 1963, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1993 and the last one was in 2003. The first was New Providence in 1959, making an immediate mark on the newly established series. The most recent was Wando in 2003.

One notable period was the 1990s, which witnessed two Triple Crown winners. This decade saw success with Peteski in 1993 and Dance Smartly in 1991. The 91’ was a special year, because Dance Smartly was the first ever filly to win the Canadian Triple Crown. The last event was held in 2022, where the three winners were Moira, Duke of Love and Sir for Sure. The closest one of triple victories was in 2019, where even the most prestigious horsing gambling sites gave Tone Broke the biggest chances, but it failed in the 1st race, while claiming the other two.


The Canadian Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing is not only a testament to the rich equestrian heritage of the nation, but a heritage. It is a tradition, where the Canadian public can not only witness the prowess and skill of the horses but also the dedication and passion of the whole training team. Without a doubt, winning three diverse races in just a couple of days is monumental, making the Triple Crown a hallmark of excellence in Canadian thoroughbred racing.


Experiencing Ultra Supper Club
CNE 2023: Ex-travagant Highlights

Joel Levy